Advisory Board

The IOC Diploma in Sports Medicine is awarded by the
International Olympic Committee. 

The program operates under the academic oversight of an international Academic Advisory Board, who will advise on and be responsible for all aspects of academic standards, including quality assurance of course content and moderation of student assessment.

Program Directors

Prof Ron Maughan, United Kingdom


Ron Maughan obtained his BSc (Physiology) and PhD from the University of Aberdeen, and was based in the Medical School there for almost 25 years before moving to England. He is now Visiting Professor in the School of Medicine at St Andrews University. He spent much of his career trying to understand the physiological and metabolic responses to exercise and the nature of fatigue, but has included many digressions along the way. He chairs the Nutrition Working Group of the Medical and Scientific Commission of the International Olympic Committee. He is a director of the IOC Diploma programs in Sports Nutrition, Sports Medicine, and Sports Physical Therapies. He organised the IOC Consensus Conferences on Nutrition in Sport in 2003 and 2010, the FIFA/F-MARC Consensus Conferences on Nutrition in Football in 2005 and 2011, and the IAAF Consensus Conference on Nutrition in Athletics in 2007. More recently, he organised the 2017 IOC Consensus conference on Dietary Supplements in Elite Sport. He has published extensively in the scientific literature and is author or editor of a number of books on sports nutrition and exercise biochemistry. 

Prof Lars Engebretsen, Norway



Lars Engebretsen MD PhD is a professor and director of research at the Orthopaedic Center, Ulleval University Hospital and University of Oslo Medical School and Professor and co-chair of the Oslo Sports Trauma Research Center. He is also Chief Doctor for the Norwegian Federation of Sports, and headed the medical service at the Norwegian Olympic Center until the autumn of 2011. In 2007 he was appointed Head of Science and Research for the International Olympic Committee (IOC). Lars Engebretsen is a specialist in Orthopaedic and general surgery and authorized as Sports Medicine Physician by the Norwegian Society of Sports Medicine. He serves as chief team physician for the Norwegian Olympic teams.

The main area of research is resurfacing techniques of cartilage injuries, combined and complex knee ligament injuries and prevention techniques of sports injuries. He is currently the President of ESSKA (European Society of Sports Traumatology, Knee Surgery and Arthroscopy). He is the Associate editor and Editor in chief for the new IOC-BJSM journal: Injury Prevention and Health Protection. In addition, he serves on several major sports journal editorial boards and has published more than 200 papers and book chapters.

The International Academic Advisory Board

  • Dr Elisabeth Arendt, USA
  • Professor Roald Bahr, Norway
  • Professor Michael Bergeron, USA
  • Dr Niall Elliott, United Kingdom
  • Dr Marie-Elaine Grant, Ireland
  • Professor Jon Karlsson, Sweden
  • Professor Gino Kerkhoffs, The Netherlands
  • Dr Guoping Li, China
  • Prof Karim Khan, Canada
  • Professor Michael Kjäer, Denmark
  • Hide Koga, Japan
  • Dr Margo Mountjoy, Canada
  • Professor Antonio Pelliccia, Italy
  • Dr Paul Piccininni, Canada
  • Dr Claudia Reardon, USA
  • Professor Per Renström, Sweden
  • Professor Martin Schwellnus, South Africa
  • Dr Mike Wilkinson, Canada